Day 1 – Full of hope

Published January 1, 2011 by fitflo

Todays Run Stats

Distance: 3 miles

Time: 37 :04

Soundtrack: Atomic – The best of Blondie

You should have heard the names I was calling myself this morning…I really DID NOT want to run today! Instead of sticking to our original plans of heading into London to watch the fireworks then coming home and waking up on New Years Day hangover free, we were talked into going to a house party where much tequila beer and elderflower collins were consumed.

I have no idea what time we crashed out, but I woke up at 10am not even sure who I was let alone where I was (somewhere in Abbeywood if you’re interested!).

We began the long journey back home to Luton (via Charlton which is where our car was!) and when we got home I went back to bed. When I woke up at 5:30 I realised it was now or never – given the name I chose for this blog and my previous history I couldn’t let myself fall at the first hurdle. So I pulled on my gear and out I went. I’d love to say I feel better for it – I felt every one of the 20 odd cigarettes I smoked last night, and at one point thought I was going to throw up. But, I jogged the whole way and did 3 miles in a not unimpressive time for me so I do actually feel quite good.  I also decided I am going to work my way through my ipod from A to Z over the month, so tomorrows listening will have to be an album title starting with a B…lots of best ofs to choose from!

Well done to all of you that got out and did it today. 1 down, 30 to go – YAY!!

6 comments on “Day 1 – Full of hope

  • Such dedication. Hope your hangover wears off quickly. BTW, I told my other half about your name and the reason for it and he laughed like a drain…as he says the same thing about me.

  • Leave a Reply

