Day 7 – Pt 1 – whilst waiting for the rain to stop in sydney…

Published January 7, 2011 by fitflo

Saw a link on another blog to a comment that Cathy (the wonderful organiser!) made about Janathon:

The seriously unfit won’t finish Janathon. The reasonably fit are encouraged to do something other than run every day. The hardcore will run every day and have no problem.

It started me thinking – where am I in that list? If you saw me in the street, you would say I’m in the seriously unfit category. I am 36 yrs old, 5ft 9in and weigh 235lbs. I’m overweight, I wear a size 20, I have size 8 feet, I am a big person. I’m overweight because I eat too much, and I find it hard to lose weight because I love food!! Also I have PCOS that was diagnosed when I was 16 – I know, I know a typical fat person medical reason…it’s not the reason I’m fat, it just makes it harder for me to lose weight.

However, for the last 4 years I have exercised 3 – 4 times a week. Sometimes a class, sometimes a bike ride, other times circuits. Last year I started training for a half marathon (which I couldn’t complete due to an injury) however I logged a couple of 9 mile 2 hour run towards the end of my training. This year, I have run every day – sometimes just a mile and a half, but running the whole time at a (steadyish) 4.5 – 5mph pace which isn’t that bad. I had blood tests done recently and my cholesterol, HDL/LDL levels are all in the very healthy range – my doctor joked that I am the healthiest fat person she knows. If you read just these stats you’d probably put me in the reasonably fit category.

I certainly don’t put myself in the hardcore section, but the reason I joined Janathon is for the challenge. I am a competitve person and I was attracted to the idea of joining a group where I would be challenged to run every day. I am new to regular running, I enjoy running and I wanted to see if I could do it.

So where does that leave me? My conclusion is: I look seriously unfit, I feel reasonable fit, but I hope by the end of January someone calls me hardcore!

7 comments on “Day 7 – Pt 1 – whilst waiting for the rain to stop in sydney…

  • You sound hardcore to me! 🙂 It’s all about mental attitude if you ask me. I’m in the seriously unfit category too, but I’m blooming well going to see this through to the end of the month … and beyond. If I never lose another pound, I’ll at least know I’m living healthily and doing the best for my mind and body! Keep up the good work! 🙂

  • Thanks for the comments – I think the advice re easy days is one I need to take – I keep trying to push myself to do 3 miles but actually a mile is still something and it’s OK! Thanks Highway Kind!

    Natalie – I agree, when we finish this we will be fitter and healthier and that’s the important thing regardless of what the scales say!

  • Leave a Reply

