18th Feb – Janathon seems ages ago

Published February 18, 2011 by fitflo

…really it does, it feels like such a long time ago that I was running every day. Thursday was the first run I had done since Saturday and even though it was only 5 days it seemed like an AGE because I have got so used to running more….all a good thing I think!

I had a few days off. Sunday I was hungover and incapable of moving off the sofa even for junk food. Monday I had planned to do my club run but I woke up feeling grotty and with a scratchy throat – no doubt a battered immune system due to the drinking and (oops) smoking on Saturday night. It hung around until Thursday morning – a double dose of Berocca and Pharmaton, coupled with LOTS of fruit and veggies saw it off, so I went out for club run Thursday night.

My aim was to run the whole way – no walking stops, and I managed it. A very hilly 2.5 miles which made it more impressive that I didn’t walk although I wanted to at the top of one particularly bad hill! My legs felt good so I went for another slow little plod tonight just 2.7 miles, average pace 12m26s has a very long slowly rising hill that I normally walk up, but tonight I ran half of it. I MUST do more hill runs…

It’s now only 6 weeks, 2 days til my 10 mile run. I’m scared. I was scared anyway but when the nice and very optimistic coach man at the running club gave me my training plan yesterday, I got more scared.

This is how our conversation went:

Optimistic Bill: I didn’t know what sort of time you had done before – you said you ran 8 miles last week so I guessed you’ve probaly run for an hour and 40 mins?

Me: Er, yes, once.

Optimistic Bill: Great! Once is better than none! You’ll be doing two and a half hours within 4 weeks….

At that point I think I passed out standing up. I vaguely remember being handed a piece of handwritten A4 and I walked away. One of the other members came up to me and told me that ‘Bills training plans are the best!’

…could it be?….do I have?… the HOLY GRAIL. The 40 minute 10k plan (even though it’s a 10 mile plan) with minimal effort…..

Er, no! It looks like it’s going to be bloody hard work and if I don’t lose AT LEAST a stone in the next 6 weeks I am going to be bloody pissed off!

Here it is:

Sat or Sun: Easy Pace for 1 hour 50 mins.

Mon: Easy 40 mins, Steady 20 mins

Tues or Weds: 10 mins easy, 4 x 12 mins fast with 2 mins jog recovery (REALLY??? Don’t you mean LYING DOWN Recovery) 10 mins easy

Th: 75 mins steady pace

S: 2 HOURS, yes 2 HOURS easy pace

Week 2

I can’t think that far ahead, it looks too scary…what have I done?

10 comments on “18th Feb – Janathon seems ages ago

  • The thing is Ms Flo, I absolutely 100% believe that you are fully capable of doing all that. Hard work, yes indeedy, but then it was always going to be. I’m not sure that 10 miles or even 10k comes with “minimal effort”.

    I’m in the process of getting my long run up to 10k. And while Janathon was brilliant and I’m so glad I did it, I’m still having to work hard to build up my distance. But it’s also immensely rewarding. I’ve just mapped out my 9k route, for tomorrow’s long run and I’m looking forward to it. Or well I’m looking forward to the way I’ll feel afterwards anyway!

    Your plan looks really good and by golly you’ll notice the difference in your capabilities after a month of that.

    So engage some Positive Running Belief and you will get there.

  • Yep I believe you can do it also, mind over matter, girl! Am looking forward to reading all about it. Good luck with the 110 minute run this weekend, think you will have so much to blog about after that! Enjoy (tongue in cheek) X

  • I agree that it looks dreadful, but things always look dreadful when they’re written down. If you wrote down your Janathon activities as though they were your training plan, they’d look scary too. Download some decent music/podcasts and I’m sure that the time will fly by.

  • I’ll make you a deal.

    If you manage to put your trainers on, and get out the front door on every day that your training plan says you should be running, then in exchange, I GUARANTEE that (providing you’re fit and well on the day) you’ll run your ten miles better than you currently believe is possible.

    We can’t lose.

    🙂

  • Ohhh very interesting. I am doing a half marathon training plan at the minute but when that’s out of the way I’m going to give this a go. I sooo want to improve my 10k time. Please post the next phase of the plan at some point

    • Actually I was only joking – Shazruns and Fairweatherrunner are searching for a plan to improve their 10k times with minimal effort and I am trying to convince them it doesn’t exist! But I have made a new page and posted the plan for you – I’ll let you know what improvement it makes to my times!

  • Leave a Reply

