21st Feb – Long run conquered

Published February 21, 2011 by fitflo

I woke up Sunday morning with a feeling of dread in the pit of my stomach. Today was the day I had to run for 1 hour 50 minutes. 

I got up at around 10am, made a healthy brekkie for hubby and my lovely friend Fi who had stayed for the weekend. We had lots of fruit with 0% greek yoghurt and honey, followed by some toasted Spelt and Honey bread – it’s one of Asdas speciality breads and I would highly recommend it. I washed it all down with 2 pints of water and a berocca. I’ve read quite a lot in the last week about nutrition for training – lovely friend Fi bought me a great book called Go Faster Food by Kate Percy – signed by the author no less! Anyway, I was aiming for a breakfast with a good mix of carbs (toast and fruit) and protein (yoghurt). I know that I can run on porridge, but I want to try different things each week to see what works best.

An hour after eating I set out. I tried not to think about how far I was going. I had a route planned in my head of around 9 miles which I worked out should take me around 1hr 50 and, to avoid feeling too pressured, I promised myself that if at any point it felt like I couldn’t finish I would just call my husband and come home. I took 500mls of water with with me, wore my most comfy running tights and covered my torso and face in vaseline to prevent chafing and wind burn. I know that all sounds a bit extreme but I felt like I was heading out for a marathon and wanted to be prepared. I can laugh about it now but at  the time I just felt like I wanted to make sure I had no reason to stop.

I laced up my trainers, made sure that I had downloaded the 1st 2 episodes of Marathon Talk, and off I went. For the 1st 2 miles I had a bubbly stomach and learnt Lesson No 1: Do NOT eat fruit before a long run. It resulted in a bit of er wind power that got me though mile 3 where I hit 12m12s pace. Mile 4 was hard – a long slightly upward run to the halfway point, thankfully by that point I was up to the bit in episode 1 of MT where they interviewed Liz Yelling and I was lost in that, however I learnt Lesson No 2:  Plan routes with plenty of change of scenery so I don’t get bored. Mile 5 and 6 were nondescript, the end of mile 7 and half of 8 was a very steep uphill which I walked up as a bit of a rest but also because it is almost vertical and I have a LONG way to go before I can run up it. I also passed a woman walking who I had passed and said Hi to at mile 3. She smiled at me and we stopped and had a little chat – she thought I was nuts to be going up the hill and not down it! I explained what I was doing, that I was using it as my 2/3rds way through ‘rest’ and she asked if I was training for the marathon! Hahahaha!! Lesson No 3: It’s okay to stop and chat to people to break up the run. I waved goodbye to my new friend (I hope I see her again next week) and headed home – the last 2 miles were nice and flat and I felt fantastic…I ran the last mile in 10m51!! I was tempted to go for another mile to prove to myself that I can do it, but I’ll save that for next week.

My total time was 1hr 50m 30s and I covered 9.03m. Splits were as follows, although runkeeper lost signal quite a few times so I’m not convinced it’s accurate:

Mile 1:    12:49

Mile 2:    12:25

Mile 3:    12:12

Mile 4:    12:43

Mile 5:    11:51

Mile 6:    10:13

Mile 7:    14:35

Mile 8:    13:03

Mile 9:    10:51

I’m quite pleased with the splits – it doesn’t look too inconsistent and hopefully with some tempo work and a bit of weight loss, I might get to under a 12 minute mile average.

Within about 5 minutes of pressing save activity on my iphone (which auto posts it to facebook) I had text and FB messages from friends (thanks Rachel and Susan) and family congratulating me. I felt quite emotional and sent a text to Shaz who sent me a lovely supportive whoop-whoop by text! Hubby gave me a big high 5 and both my cats came to wind themselves round my legs – I like to think they were saying well done and attempting to massage me however I think they may have been after Dreamies

I followed up yesterdays run with a short club run today. My legs started feeling heavy about a mile in and it was POURING down so I did 3 instead of 5 miles (naughty me I went off plan!). Tempo run next on the list for tomorrow or Wednesday – MY FIRST EVER ONE!! I’ll let you know how it goes.

10 comments on “21st Feb – Long run conquered

  • Oh well done m’dear. Knew you could do it and sounds like you ran really well *and* learnt a lot. Good preparation as well. I’ve been trying out new pre-long-run foods recently and have found I need to eat two hours before going out running, otherwise I get a stitch and start feeling a bit queezy.

  • Absolutely fantastically fab!! Well done! You did everything right… including cutting your run short the next day… a lesson I learnt the hard way! Good luck with your tempo run… I find a bit of the right type of music helps me on the way with that! 🙂

  • Great post and run, well done! I’ve found it definitely works better for me too to try and plan a more interesting route for the longer runs as otherwise they can seem soooo boring and feel like they take forever! 🙂

  • Leave a Reply

