9th Mar – Day 1 of 46

Published March 9, 2011 by fitflo

Following on from Fattipuffs lead, I have decided to give some things up for Lent, but with cavaets (caveats?).  So, Here goes.

I am going to give up my LAY IN 4 times a week, to get up and do a weights or circuit based training session. I know, I know I do love my lays in, but that’s the point of Lent isn’t it; to give up something you will really miss, not that I’m religious mind… Also running alone has not given me the impetus to lose weight that I thought it would,  I need to make a bigger commitment to myself and I think this will do it. I also hope that by strengthening my muscles generally I will prevent any injuries/strains etc in future, so it’s win/win!

So, as this is day 1 of Lent, I got up this morning at 7am and did a strength/core workout for 50 mins… woohoo! I feel I should confess that right now I am eating my breakfast trying not to lift my arms higher than my elbows as my biceps and shoulders are already really hurting…OUCH!

I am giving up eating crisps Monday to Friday – I do not need a packet a day when I am at work, I shall be saint-like and eat an apple or an orange instead. But I shall treat myself to a packet at the weekend if I fancy it – just a 30g packet though not a 200g packet of Kettle Chips nom nom nom….

9 comments on “9th Mar – Day 1 of 46

  • Wow! Sounds great, good luck! Like the way you’ve not completely banished things such as allowing yourself crisps on the weekend – reckon you’ve more chance of succeeding that way. Hope the arms don’t get too much worse! 🙂

  • I don’t wish to depress you, but there are 46 days between Ash Wednesday and Easter Sunday…the Sundays don’t count in the 40 day count. Good luck with your resolutions (though if you can do Janathon, you can definitely do Lent)

  • Leave a Reply

