WWWP5K – Day one

Published April 4, 2011 by fitflo

Today is the start of the wwwp5k challenge – where all normal and sane people are running 5k on the 10th or any day between the 4th and the 10th April, but Sharon and I have vowed to run, walk or cycle 5k evey day this week.  I think we are both suffering from Janathon withdrawal symptoms… Please feel free to join us!

For those of you that don’t know, I ran my first race yesterday – a 10 miler, having only started running properly in January.  Surpisingly my legs felt OK today, but wierdly my shoulders ache!  What is that all about – I ran with my legs not my arms? I dutifully spent about 20 minutes yesterday strateching and massaging Elemis Musclease into my legs (genius oil for preventing the aches after a long run), but didn’t think to do my shoulders. I would be grateful to anyone who can shed some light on this wierd phenomenom and how to avoid it in the future!

Monday is running club night – I’m a member of the Stopsley Striders in Luton, and thankfully I got to run with one of my old (slower) group members – we did a 3.2 mile run at a steady pace of 12m 13s – I can’t believe that I now consider that pace to be my steady one! An easy loop with my favourite downhill section however what goes down must come up and the picture below is taken from the top of a deceptively HARD hill at the end – the man on the left was my running buddy tonight – he is 74!! Hope I’m still out there pounding the streets at that age!

Day one stats

Activity: Run

Time: 40 mins ish (runkeeper lost signal)

Distance: 5.4k

5 comments on “WWWP5K – Day one

  • Shoulder aches often come from hand clenching during a run – try to hold your hands as if you had a fresh egg in each palm and wanted to keep it warm and safe so it could hatch into a little fluffy bird! That stops you tightening your grip and creating residual tension up into your shoulders.

    Also, during the race, every mile marker or whatever, drop your arms and shake them vigorously to get the blood to run back into your hands – that can help stop the aching too.

  • Leave a Reply

