6th June – a rude awakening

Published June 6, 2011 by fitflo

Jeez. I thought I had been keeping up my running, but my club run tonight made me realise I’ve probably not been pushing myself enough in the last few weeks. I decided to go out with the oldies for my first session in 5 weeks, and thank god! We ran for an hour – it was across fields and a golf course. I had forgotten how much I prefer running on proper made pavements as I struggle to stay upright and straight on uneven ground, and I kept turning my ankle or stumbling – v frustrating.

2 things it made me realise:

1) Must do more hill training

2) Must do more core work to improve my balance.

So, we covered 4.58m in 1hour. Bit poor but there were lots of hills – have a look at the profile on my runkeeper page. Next 10k is in 5 weeks, I reckon as long as I keep up with my club runs and get out for 6 or 7 miles at the weekend I should improve my time.  Oh, I just looked back at my Janathon totals by and by this time I’d done 3 more miles – and that was before I had discovered outdoor running and had done eveything on a dreadmill. God knows how! Must try harder – need to get some longer runs in I think.

Junethon today

Run 4.58m

Juneathon Totals

16m run

1.5m walk

7 comments on “6th June – a rude awakening

  • Leave a Reply

