No running makes me a dull girl

Published October 23, 2011 by fitflo

I run to stay calm, I run to relax, I run for fun, I run to control my weight, I run to clear my head, I run for me.

So, 2 full weeks without running and I think I’m beginning to go mad. In just 9 months, running has become such a big part of my life that I feel lost without it – I’ve lost the thing that has come to define me.

I joined the gym last week to try to find a substitute, and every day this week I’ve either swam for an hour (boring) or done an hours cardio and weight training (not so boring). It’s cool being a member of the gym again – the sauna and jacuzzi are my fave bits and it’s good to catch up with some friends I have there. But it’s not running.

Prognosis for the ankle is that I will need at least another 2 weeks rest. I’m hoping for an xray this week to determine the extent of the damage and make sure it’s not more serious as I’m still in pain and I don’t want to start my training just to end up not being able to run ever again!

 

9 comments on “No running makes me a dull girl

  • Chill X (yeah I know easy for me to say) Think of the positives, no swaety kit to wash, no cold runs to do, no hill reps or intervals, no runners runny nose, no dogs to bark at you and LOTS of relaxing, so relax girl.

  • Oh sympathies sympathies I know so well how you feel…. grrr so frustrating. Hang in there so you don’t damage your running for the long term and I can guarantee that when you can run again it will feel SOOOOOO GOOD!

  • Oh Babe. I feel for you and know exactly how you feel. I’ve not trained full stop for two weeks due to being too busy at work and then too weak due to flu. I can’t wait to get back to it.

  • Leave a Reply

