Mid week run

Published March 29, 2012 by fitflo

Haven’t run since Sunday (a pattern is emerging here) so I thought I’d best go to running club tonight. 4m round trip with Elaine and Linda in a nice quick pace. I’d forgotten how much fun it is to push myself because I’ve got so comfortable at a 12 – 12.30 m mile pace. I’m looking forward to going out and doing some shorter, faster runs once the marathon is over as well as joining in with some speedwork sessions.

My legs feel great, the weekly sports massage is making a HUGE difference, and for the last 2 weeks I’ve had 2 for the price of one. My usual therapist is training someone and they do a leg each, so I’m effectively getting an hours treatment for the price of half an hour – woohoo! I find it quite painful so I try to chat to them whilst they work in an effort to distract myself. They are both young boys (well, under 23 which is young to me) and for some reason they seem to bring out my inner Barbara Windsor, so I hear myself coming out with lines that belong in a Carry on film. I really can’t help it, they must dread me coming in but I just can’t stop myself, it’s my way of dealing with the pain.

Changing the subject, if any of you are in London on Saturday, you may want to go along to this unique 5k run:

Ben Davis went through an amazing journey (I know some bloggers have posted links to this video before, but here it is again). I want to make one eventually…

He has started a movement called Do Life, encouraging people to get up and do something and enjoy life basically. The exciting news is that he is in the UK and is inviting everyone to along to Hyde Park on Saturday morning to join him for a 5k run/walk/whatever and lunch afterwards. I am absolutely GUTTED that I have to work – his blog is very inspirational and I’d love to be able to meet him in person, so if any of you go please say Hi from me and get your picture taken with him, maybe wearing a mask of my face so that I can pretend I was there? Thanks

2 comments on “Mid week run

  • Leave a Reply

