Day One – Rushed

Published June 1, 2012 by fitflo

I’d planned to get up at Shaz o clock this morning. However when my alarm went off at 6am, Oliver looked up at me from where he was snuggled in the crook of my elbow with a look that said ‘please don’t get up I’m really comfy’ so I didn’t. It is, of course, entirely possible I was projecting my own thoughts onto him but I like to believe that we have a special connection and I can read his mind.

I therefore had to fit in a quick run after getting home from work and before catching a train to Leeds, so it was very rushed and I forgot to actually switch my garmin on although I did wear it. The route was about 2.3m and it took 27 mins which is not great but not awful. I’m a bit annoyed with myself for not getting up early enough to go further this morning. My biggest mileage month ever was March this year when I ran 96.9m, so I am imposing a minimum distance of 2m a day this Juneathon in the hope that with the addition of my long runs I will beat this (I’m a competitive bunny and like to have a goal in mind).

I’m now on a train to Leeds (in 1st class – they were doing a special offer) where I’m spending the weekend with my friend who lives on Ilkley Moor. Luckily she’s recently taken up running so we’re planning a run in the (late) morning followed by a bit of shopping and pampering, then a 3m walk to the pub with our OHs in the evening so 2 lots of Juneathoning tomorrow – check me out!

To liven up my blog a bit I’m going to add at least one pic each day. Today’s is for Helsiboo, and K and knitting penguin and anyone else who loves CAKE. Lovely bit of lemon tart with raspberry coulis. Travelling 1st class rocks!

20120601-200915.jpg

PS I’m not going soft, the drink you can see is a G & T not water!

13 comments on “Day One – Rushed

  • the risk of skipping a run increases as the day goes on, i can speak from my own experience, so well done on day 1 πŸ˜€ – also i will have add cake to the list of items that feature very heavily on juneathon blogs πŸ™‚

  • Leave a Reply

