Forgive me followers for I have sinned

Published July 15, 2012 by fitflo

Until 9am this morning I had not run for 13 days and was sort of enjoying it, and was worried that I was living up to my fortnightflo moniker, albeit as eighteenmonthflo.

Luckily, I’d made arrangements with Shaz aaaages ago to meet up with her for a 13 mile run. As the date drew nearer we exchanged texts, neither of us were up for the 13 miles (which we couldn’t have done anyway as the route was waterlogged) so we settled on around 8 miles as long as it was further than 6. I had to get up early, it was very wet, and yes, I may be a bit mad to do a 120 mile round trip for an 8 mile run without even getting any bling at the end, but it was well worth it. We walked a bit, I whinged, we walked a bit more (most of the last mile) but we broke the 6 mile barrier we’d both been stuck at by covering 8 miles, and insetad of bling I got a nice bit of home made cake – yum!

If I ignore the last mile (16m 30), I ran the rest of it around at about 11m30s mp. I know I’ve said it so many times you must be sick of hearing, but I’m just not going to get any quicker unless I lose weight. So, in pursuit of motivation I have signed up to Dietbet after reading about it in womanoflesssubstances blog.

It works by setting a challenge – the one I am doing is to lose 4% of your body weight in 4 weeks. Every player in the game pays $25 (about £17) and everyone who hits the goal gets a share of the pot, so we’re all winners which I like as we’re not competing against each other – just ourselves. Although obviously if someone doesn’t achieve the goal, their $25 gets shared between those who do.

If you fancy joining me here is the link: http://bit.ly/NmyENV it starts on the 17th July and you need to be weighed in by then.

I think I have my mojo back now…I might even dig out that marathon training plan…

 

7 comments on “Forgive me followers for I have sinned

  • Well done, that’s a long way to go after a break. I’m struggling to get into my training plan for the Great North Run I’m supposed to be doing 10k today, but I’m sitting here on the computer then going to the pub so not sure when that’s going to happen. (it’s not) . Good luck with the Dietbet!
    Remember “Do Not reward yourself with food – You are not a Dog!”
    xxxxxx

  • Impressive dedication with a 120mile round trip. Dietbet sounds like a good way to lose weight. I lost 4 stone before and found running really helped and I have got faster as I have got older!

  • Leave a Reply

