Janathon is ON!

Published December 13, 2012 by fitflo

I’ve been a bit lax lately, both in my running and my blogging.

You know how it goes – throughout the whole of November you eat healthily, workout 4 times a week, abstain from alcohol – all to fit into that dress for the work Christmas party. Then at the do you eat too much and drink too much (and smoke – eek), so the morning after you need a fried breakfast to soak it up, and because you’ve had a big breakfast you can’t run, then you think you may as well have a full roast as you’re going round friends for drinks in the evening and need to line your stomach. That goes on til late, so you NEED a sausage sandwich to get you started at work Monday morning, and then work is so busy you don’t have time for lunch but it’s OK because you’re out again that night for Pizza Express with a good friend. And you think sod it it’s Christmas and I missed lunch, so you have a starter, main course AND dessert and a healthy amount of red wine. Tuesday you wake up feeling a bit rubbish but it’s still too busy at work for a decent break so you have a nasty Subway because it’s just around the corner. By the time you get home after an 11 hour day you need ice-cream to get you through the housework that needs doing which again prevents you from running. Wednesday is another 11 hour day and dinner ends up being some Christmas party food as that’s all that’s in the fridge and…well do I need to go on?

I’ve not just fallen off the wagon, I’ve jumped off, smashed it to pieces and burnt it.

But

There is light at the end of the tunnel. It’s called JANATHON.

A month of running (or exercising) every day. It’s what got me started running, and blogging, two years ago. And introduced me to lots of new like minded friends. And helped me lose 10 lbs in a month. And it’s going to get me back on the straight and narrow come the 1st Jan 2013.

I just hope it’s not too late…

 

11 comments on “Janathon is ON!

  • Good luck! I did Juneathon this year and really enjoyed it. I won’t be doing Janathon officially because I’ll be too busy to cope with the daily blogging (Jan is not a good month for me) but I will try to join in with the exercising.

  • Never too late 🙂
    December is just like that, all my well intended resolutions have flown out the door too. I will try and run each day in January, but may not be able to keep up with the blogging bit..

  • Leave a Reply

