The day after the run before

Published January 7, 2013 by fitflo

Oooooh I feel TIGHT today. My quads ache, my hamstrings feel alike they have shrunk to 2 inches, my calves have turned to lead, and my achilles is a bit sore. I think going from 0 to 16 miles in a week is taking it’s toll on me. I’m not joking either – I always log on runningfree as it’s a good way to track progress. If you look at my totals page you’ll see I ran 7 miles IN THE WHOLE OF DECEMBER and so far in 6 days of January I have run 18.3m!

I am STOKED about that as my goal is to average 3m per day – with a little push at the end of the month I’m aiming for 100 running miles this month which would be by highest mileage ever.

I do need to make an effort to do more stretching though, so I’m going to find my stick which I bought at the VLM expo last year and is a great way to release tightness as long as you’re a bit of a masochist which I’ not so I have to just grin and bear it. I’ve also booked a sports massage for tomorrow evening (right after my first ever regiment fitness session) – Elaine bumped hips with me earlier and I squealed in pain, methinks I’ve got a painful IT stripping ahead…

16 comments on “The day after the run before

  • Take care with increasing the mileage too quickly, wouldn’t want any more injuries. Well done on 18 miles in the first week though, brilliant effort.

  • Youch! Regiment Fitness??? I know that Rachel and Alma love this stuff, but I tried a similar thing in MK a couple of years ago and I didn’t like it at all. Far too much crawling on the ground and getting filthy. Good Luck though! xxx

  • Leave a Reply

