And so the training begins…

Published February 25, 2013 by fitflo

It’s officially 5 weeks and 6 days to go until the Blackpool half marathon and my longest run so far has only been 7 miles 2 weeks ago. Luckily, I’ve not been too idle. I’ve run or walked to work most days, I did a very boring hour (5 miles) on the treadmill last week, and a long walk with friends last weekend. I have a long run planned tomorrow evening which should about get me back onto plan.

The trouble is it’s just soooo cold and I find it so hard to train in the cold. I’m sure it was warmer than this when I was training for VLM last year. As Rachel reminded me earlier the weather at the Silverstone half, which was this time last year, was much warmer – in fact it was blazing sunshine and about 22 degrees by the time we hit the finish line. A far cry from yesterdays chilly 4 degrees.

I started my Chinese Medicine trial last week. I don’t know what herbs I’m taking but the good thing is there is no placebo so they should have some positive effect on my symptoms. They are absolutely vile – imagine gravy mixed with licorice and a touch of ginger, so I make them into a short tea and down them like a shot!

The Kifit is going well, I’ve now lost 10 pounds – yes 10 pounds!!  I put it down to a combination of exercise, eating less and just being more aware of calories in/calories out. I’ll definitely be renewing my subscription and would highly recommend it to anyone who has struggled to find the motivation to stick to a healthy eating/exercise plan.

Here are some pics from the last week:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

7 comments on “And so the training begins…

  • Well flipping done! 10 lbs !!! Fabulous. Re Silverstone last year, I remember you saying how awful it was because of the heat reflecting back off the tarmac. I really want to sign up for a half, but until this stupid achilles gets better there’s no point. HOWEVER… Last week, when I was doing out Dad’s house it was killing me and I was limping , so today, I decided to try my old “Fit-Flop bootees – Mukluks” Well, I don’t even know I’ve got an Achilles tendon today! I wonder if I can run in Mukluks!?!?!?!?! xxxxxxxxx

  • You will be fine for Blackpool, 7 miles is more than halfway already! Good lsuck for the long run. It is definitely a lot colder this year, am battling with my training. 10 pounds !!!!!! Whoop whoop go you xxxx

  • Leave a Reply

