@cityjoggingtour Review

Published March 10, 2013 by fitflo

A couple of months ago New Balance were offering bloggers a place on a City Jogging Tour in London. I thought it sounded like a lovely idea so I asked them if I could bring a couple of friends to which they said yes and also provided us with a pair of New Balance shoes each to wear on the day (review on those beauties coming soon). I used it as an opportunity to catch up with my London-based blogging buddies that have all given me lots of support and encouragement since we ‘met’ during Janathon 2011 (which seems like yonks ago now!), so I asked Louise, Alma, Rachel, Lorraine and Jo to join me – they all jumped at the chance!

We met at St James Park tube station and set off on the Parks and Palaces tour which took us through St James Park, past Buck Palace and onto Green Park, through Hyde Park and finished at Kensington Gardens. I thoroughly enjoyed the tour – our guide Amy was very knowledgeable as well as being an extremely hardcore runner (her marathon Pb is 3:07!!!). I was the slowest in the group but was never made to feel like I was holding anyone up – for me it was like doing a speed interval session (as Louise described it) as the running bits were 10-11 min miles and we stopped about every quarter to half a mile for Amy to point something out. We ran 4 miles in total which took us around 45 minutes, we even got a cereal bar at the end to reward our efforts.

I would heartily recommend the tour to anyone who wants to see London from a different point of view. It’s a great way for visitors to see things not on the usual sightseeing tours, and equally interesting for people (like me) who think they know London but want to be surprised. Here are a selection of the cool things we saw along the way.

001

Statue of Queen Anne on Queen Annes Gate, just round the corner from St James Park tube

One of the pair of pelicans that live in St James Park

One of the pair of pelicans that live in St James Park

Isis - Hyde Parks 1st new statues in 50 years added in 2009

Isis – Hyde Parks 1st new statue in 50 years added in 2009

Our group gathered around the Peter Pan statue in Kensington Gardens

Our group gathered around the Peter Pan statue in Kensington Gardens

13 comments on “@cityjoggingtour Review

  • Looks like a great experience – one of the reasons I didn’t take up the offer was worrying about the speed it would be run at!

  • I like this posting, it’s not a technical running review, it’s a real running review! I run alot round London and find it thrilling to know the history of things I go past, sadly I’m usually the your guide 🙂 look forward to reading more of your exploits.

  • Leave a Reply

