@KiFit and me

Published May 15, 2013 by fitflo

Anyone else fed up of this weather? I went for a run at lunchtime today, was out for 36 minutes and in that time nearly got blown over, got rained on and regretted leaving my sunglasses at the office as I was blinded by the light (there is a song there – who knows the next line?…)

Other than that a pretty uneventful 3 miles, I run up a hill, round a park and then caroused down hill. I promised an update on the Kifit which will be much more interesting so here we go.

The Ki Fit Armband

What is it

It’s an armband monitor that measures your metabolism and provides feedback on your calories burnt, steps taken, length of time spent active and time spent asleep.

How does it work

No idea! It could be a load of bollocks (my husbands professional opinion), however I believe it is full of cutting edge technical wizardry. Here’s a link to the website if you need to know. They use it on the Biggest Loser, those people lose a shed load of weight – that’s a good enough recommendation for me.

SO, DOES it work?

It DOES give (apparently) accurate calorie burn numbers – strangely the more I move the more I burn – who’d have thought it???

It DOES give very accurate timings spent on moderate (3-6METS) and vigorous (6+ METS) activity (it knows when I am trying to fob off a fast walk as a run whereas my garmin doesn’t).

It DOESN’T stop you shoveling a load of crisps and chocolate and ice-cream down your throat. Damn shame.

So why bother?

The 1st day I wore it I went about life as normal. Drove to work, sat at my desk, walked out to get some lunch, sat at my desk for a bit more, drove home, sat on the sofa for a bit, went to bed. Here are the results.

View photo.JPG in slide show

I burned 2605 calories, took 4129 steps and spent just 35 minutes being moderately active (i.e. not sitting down).

This was such an eye opener. I’m approaching 40, am overweight, I have PCOS which makes me something like a million times more likely to suffer heart disease and diabetes, and other than the odd run, I’m doing NOTHING.

So, over the last 3 months I have tried to increase my activity. My daily aim is 10000 steps, 1hr of moderate and 30min vigorous activity and a calorie deficit of between 1000-1500 which should result in a 2-3lbs weight loss a week. To do this I try to walk either to or from work every day (it’s about 2.5m) as well as getting back into 4 times a week running.

Here’s how the last 2 days have gone:

View photo.JPG in slide showView photo.JPG in slide show

Much better eh? Yesterday I walked to work. Today I walked to work and ran at lunchtime. Yay – go me!

I think this is a great gadget for making you aware of what you are (or aren’t) doing. It syncs automatically with myfitnespal so you don’t have to double log and if you want it will also post to facebook and twitter. I don’t think the world needs to know I just did 3 minutes of moderate activity going to the loo so I refrained from activating that. The screenshots above are from the iPhone app which updates when you sync on the laptop, not in real time. However you can buy a display that is worn as a watch or clipped to your waist band and updates in real time. Here’s mine in action:

View photo.JPG in slide show

Now I just have to learn how to step away from the cheese…

5 comments on “@KiFit and me

  • Maybe you can record a voice memo on your iPhone and set it to play at random intervals.

    “Step away from the cheese!”
    .
    .
    .
    “Step away from the cheese!”
    .
    “Step away from the cheese!”
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    “Step away from the cheese!”

  • Leave a Reply

