Super Sunday!

Published January 5, 2014 by fitflo

Started today with a lovely long lay in – can’t remember the last time I did that. I don’t know about you but I always feels like I should be doing stuff at weekends, be it catching up on housework, shopping, seeing friends and family, working out etc etc, especially if it’s sunny. Sometimes I pack so much into a weekend I wake up Monday feeling like I need another day off! When I awoke to todays grey, windy, cold wetness it gave me to perfect excuse to stay in bed and catch up on some much needed sleep.

I could very easily have carried that laziness on until bedtime, but was shamed into getting dressed and doing something by our esteemed leader jogblog, who did a 28 MILE BIKE RIDE! This is unheard of – her janathoning is usually stuff at the gym, or planks, or dressing gown dashes. I was seriously impressed and when I saw what a few other people had been up to (here, here and here) I decided  needed to join in.

Day 5 Part One – was the Julia Buckley metabolic workout. There are 2 lots in the book, one upper body and one lower body so I ran through them both although I only did one set rather than two of each exercise, just so that I know what I am doing when  brave doing them in the gym next week. It took 30 minutes and was tough, I think I’m going to ache tomorrow.

Day 5 Part Two – was a 3 mile brisk walk. I needed to get out of the house but didn’t fancy a run so it was a good compromise. ipod threw up and interesting mix on shuffle – Fashion -David Bowie, California Dreamin – Mamas and the Papas, Dream on – The Chemical Brothers and Eton Rifles – The Jam.

My dinner tonight was another creation I’m rather proud of. I’m not sure why I suddenly feel the need to share my cooking with you – I think it’s because I’ve been reading some clean eating blogs lately so am feeling inspired and wish to pass it on!

Turkey veg chilli

Turkey, bean and veg chilli.

Serves 4. Per Serving: 469 cals, 10.1g fat, 37.6g carbs, 51.2g protein

Ingredients:

2 red peppers, diced

2 yellow peppers, diced

3 medium red onions, chopped

8-10 tomatoes depending on size, diced

2 tbsp chili oil

500g turkey breast mince (veggies could substitute with quorn, tofu, or mixed beans)

2 tins of red kidney beans

4 garlic cloves, crushed

1 inch ginger, grated

2 green chilies, chopped

pinch each of cumin, coriander, turmeric

extra chili flakes if you like it hot

Method:

Saute all the veg and chilies with the oil, spices,, garlic and ginger until softened.

Add turkey mince and simmer for about an hour stirring every now and then

Add kidney beans and simmer for a another 15 mins

Et voila – 4 servings of deliciousness!

Janathon Mileage: 11.5 miles

Janathon Duration: 3.5 hours

 

 

8 comments on “Super Sunday!

  • Your chilli looks yum, I’ve never thought of adding ginger to it. I’ve heard a lot about Julia’s book, I’m very intrigued by it. Would be interested to read a full review on your thoughts.

    • I’m a bit addicted to ginger, I put it in everything! I thought I’d give it a couple of weeks on the programme before I review so I can speak from experience. Early thoughts are that its very informative and the exercises are varied and interesting enough that I can see me being able to do it for 12 weeks.

  • Leave a Reply

