Fish delish

Published January 25, 2014 by fitflo

Woke up before the alarm again this morning so decided to get my workout in before work, which turned out to be a good idea as we over-ran. I’m feeling really tired today so my 2nd bit was just a short walk and some housework.

A couple of weeks ago I asked for some clean recipes. I’m sure I’m not alone here, I’d like to eat more fish but I just don’t know what to buy and how to cook it so I end up just steaming it which can be hit and miss, so I was delighted when Helen sent me a recipe for a fish dish. She even told me which fish to buy – hurrah and huzzah!

Here it is in step by step photo form – sooooooo quick and easy to make, tasted delicious, was super clean and even hubby enjoyed it, so thanks Helen!

Helsbels Mediterranean fish

Serves 2. Per Serving: 272 cals, 9g fat, 11g carbs, 20g protein

Ingredients:

Any white fish – Helen recommended Cod but I used Sea Bass as its hubbys fave

Tin chopped tomatoes

Half a red onion

3 cloves of garlic

Herbs and seasoning to taste (I used oregano, basil, rosemary and a little sea salt and black pepper)

7 comments on “Fish delish

  • Looks good! I had fish last night too and the ‘recipe’ (if you can call it that) that I like to do every now and again, for one, is:

    Fresh tomatoes (I tend to use cherry tomatoes but you can use normal size too) as many as you like
    Fresh basil – a handful of leaves
    Cod fillet (what ever size and cut you can get…if not you can use any other white fish I just like the meatiness of cod)
    Mozzarella (the white stuff in a little bag of brine not the grated ready for a pizza stuff, I use the half fat one as it works just as well) – I use half the lump in the bag
    A few capers if you like them
    Optional dollop of basil pesto spread on the cod if you like it
    Ground pepper

    Basically put the cod in an oven proof dish (I use a small lasagna dish as the sides aren’t too high), spread the pesto on it if you fancy but you don’t have to, pop the tomatoes, capers (you can chuck some olives in if you want and yesterday I added a sliced up courgette…it really does change every time), pop basil leaves under and over the cod and then slice the mozzarella thinly and lay over the top of all the items in the dish. It won’t cover it completely. Then bung in the oven at about 180 degrees for 30ish minutes.

    It’s dead easy and you can alter it to fit your tastes but the main essentials are fish, tomatoes, mozzarella and basil. I had it on a bed of rocket last night but you could have it with potatoes, or crunchy bread…what ever you fancy!

    Hope that’s helpful 🙂

  • Leave a Reply

