Janathon XXIII

Published January 23, 2015 by fitflo

I’m feeling tired at the moment so, following some sound advice, I took a semi rest day yesterday and a full rest day today. I indulged in some internet shopping instead, and have ordered myself a fitbit surge. I’ve been using the Ki Fit for some time – I like the information I get from it. I have a calorie burn goal of 3000 a day with a step target of 12000, and the live update via the watch gives me the impetus to take the stairs instead of the lift, or walk a bit further at lunchtime. I suffer from PCOS, so I know if I hit a 3000 cal burn and eat around 1700 cals a day, I’ll lose a steady 2lbs a week.

However my arm band has broken (the sensor sits on your upper arm and syncs with a watch) and the customer service has been shocking. I’ve been waiting 2 months for a reply to an e-mail, but they seem to be in no rush to respond – perhaps because I’m tied into a monthly £13 subscription that expires next month. What’s the betting I’ll get a phonecall when it ends… Anyway, I digress… I’ve also been looking at a new Garmin. I still have the 1st and only one I have every bought – my trusty forerunner 110. It’s gives me all the information I need, but doesn’t hold its charge very well – it just about lasted the last half marathon I did but certainly won’t make it once I start going beyond 3 hours. I started looking at the fitbits, and nike fuel bands, jawbones and ups and all the other similar devices, and eventually settled on the surge. I won’t bore you by listing all the features, but the two that really sold it for me are the silent alarm (it vibrates on your wrist) as I’m willing to try anything to make getting up in the morning easier, and the fact it has wireless syncing with my iphone so I don’t have to wait until I’m home with my laptop to get the info. I’ll post a review once I’ve used it for a bit.

Yesterday I walked to work, then had a wonderfully restorative 9 hours in bed! Tomorrow morning I’m aiming for >6m run. It’s going to be my longest run since the DIsney Half Marathon, I need to see where I am so I can work out my strategy for the next 13 weeks of training. Wish me luck!

Today

Can I claim my lunchtime walk? Yeh – why not – 1.5m walk!

Totals

29m walk, 24.4m run, 2hr cross

4 comments on “Janathon XXIII

  • I’ve just been naughty and upgraded to a Garmin 220. The sync direct with my phone is fab. Saves lots of time faffing with my aging laptop and all the frustration with Garmin connect once set up. Recommend it! Now wondering if I also need an activity tracker for day to day….

  • Leave a Reply

